Let's Get Connected!

online Media

Mazda Road to Indy and MAXSpeed Group Announce Judges for Driver Advancement Program

Hinchcliffe, Chaves, Rudolph and Cooper to Select Winning Drivers

A few weeks ago, MAXSpeed Group and Andersen Promotions joined forces in a partnership program to help advance the careers of young karters into the Mazda Road to Indy (MRTI). Today they are pleased to announce that Verizon IndyCar Series standout James Hinchcliffe, Indy Lights Presented by Cooper Tires points leader Gabby Chaves, veteran karter and multi-time Team USA member Alan Rudolph and three-time Rotax Grand Finals champion Ben Cooper will comprise the panel of judges to select four qualified and deserving drivers who will be awarded one-day tests in the Cooper Tires USF2000 Championship Powered by Mazda.

“Working with everyone at Andersen Promotions and having a live video press conference at an INDYCAR event has helped elevate karting as a whole to the mainstream media,” said MAXSpeed Group President Richard Boisclair. “I couldn’t be more excited with our panel of judges and we are ready to begin receiving applications immediately. We have set important dates for all interested competitors.”

The selection process will initially consist of the completion of a Driver Advancement Program application available for download at http://bit.ly/1zUrjNf and due by August 31. Candidates will be narrowed down to a group of 12 based on selection criteria. The interview process will begin the week of September 1 with video conference interviews of the finalists and the panel hosted by Rob Howden of ekartingnews.com. The winners will be announced at the GoRotax.com Rotax Pan American Challenge at the GoPro Motorplex in Mooresville, N.C. in mid-October.

“Having James and Gabby as former and current Mazda Road to Indy drivers with prior Rotax experience on the panel of judges further solidifies our partnership as a pathway from karts to cars,” said Michelle Kish, COO of Andersen Promotions. “A lot of young drivers look up to what James and Gabby have accomplished and it is great to see them giving back. We look forward to welcoming our first group of drivers and introducing them to USF2000.”

Interested applicants must be at least 14 years of age by December 1, 2014 due to licensing requirements.


For more information on the MAXSpeed Group, promoted events including the Rotax Summer Shootout, Rotax Cold Stone US Grand Nationals, Rotax Pan American Championships, Rotax MAX Challenge Grand Finals, Team USA and the entire Rotax program, please visit GoRotax.com. Be sure to like GoRotax on Facebook (www.Facebook.com/GoRotax) and follow on Twitter (www.Twitter.com/GoRotax).

ABOUT ANDERSEN PROMOTIONS: Andersen Promotions has a long and successful background in promoting open-wheel championships and has also owned multiple race teams, including an Indy Lights team, in the past. The company relaunched the Cooper Tires USF2000 Championship Powered by Mazda in 2010, which it operated from 1992 through 2001. In December of 2012, Andersen Promotions founded the Pro Mazda Championship Presented by Cooper Tires to replace the void left by the Star Mazda Series which ceased operations after 22 years. On July 12, 2013, it was announced that Andersen Promotions would take over the licensing and operation of the Indy Lights Series from INDYCAR and now operates all three levels of the Mazda Road to Indy. For additional information, please visit www.indylights.com, www.promazdachampionship.com and www.usf2000.com.


Share this article




457 Goolsby Blvd., Bay #23
Deerfield Beach, FL 33442

Become a Member

Membership ApplicationBecoming a member is necessary to compete in any Rotax Max Challenge event. Become a member NOW by filling out the form available HERE

Rotax MAX Challenge


Rotax Poster

Mojo Consistent GRRRIP